Council of Ministers System

Council of Ministers System

Council of Ministers System

The Council of Ministers, also called the Cabinet, advises the King and facilitates the country’s development. It represents 22 different government ministries and is presided over each week by the King or his deputy.

The Cabinet is responsible for drafting and overseeing implementation of the internal, external, financial, economic, education and defense policies as well as the general affairs of the State.

The Cabinet consists of the Prime Minister (the King), the Deputy Prime Minister (the Crown Prince, who currently is also a Minister with portfolio), 21 other ministers with portfolio and seven ministers of state.

It is the final authority for financial, executive and administrative matters. Its resolutions are non-binding unless agreed upon by a majority vote. In case of a tie, the prime minister casts the tie-breaking vote. It functions in accordance with the Basic System of Governance and is advised by the Majlis Al-Shura (Consultative Council).

Established in 1953 by King Saud, the Cabinet was restructured by King Fahd in 1993.

%d bloggers like this:
Powered by : © 2014 Systron Micronix :: Leaders in Web Hosting. All rights reserved

| About Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Disclaimer | Contact Us |